Vegans don’t like to celebrate or have fun, right? Wrong! Vegans love food, drink and celebrating just as much as everyone else! Veganism isn’t about depravation at all, it’s about celebrating life – the life of all living creatures.
You would think that all alcohol is vegan, but the truth is that some of it isn’t. Some beers and wines are filtered using gelatin or isinglass, which is the dried swim bladder of a fish. There are many, many beers and wines that are vegan though, and the website Barnivore is a good site to check for info. There are so many different brands in the world that it’s impossible it keep a comprehensive list, so if you’re really worried, the best thing to do is ask the company. I recently met a wine rep who tried to tell me that all wine was non-vegan, so while most winemakers are now savvy to what’s vegan and what isn’t, there is still a learning curve.
Celebrate the holidays with mulled wine!
Once you get your hands on some vegan wine, gather some spices and make this mulled wine, which is perfect for celebrating the holidays with. I like to serve this tasty drink on Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s Eve – and sometime just any random chilly winter’s evening!
- 1 bottle of red wine
- 1 orange, sliced
- 1 lemon, sliced
- 8 whole cloves
- 2 or 3 cinnamon sticks
- 2 star anise
- 1 nutmeg, cracked
- ¼ cup agave or maple syrup, optional
- Combine all of the ingredients in a sauce pan over medium-high heat. Bring to a boil then reduce the heat and let simmer for about 15 minutes. Strain and serve warm.
If you enjoyed this Mulled Wine, you might also like: